Behind the Scenes Update 1

I’ve been busy working to make sure I have backups and all the video files organized. We’ve just passed 29 videos for the course, so it’s a ton of media that I need to maintain and make sure it’s backed up.

Backup
I’m using CrashPlan + 16TB Hard drive NAS (RAID 5) + Thunderbolt Duo for backups.

I may throw in another off-site backup, but I haven’t decided yet. Any suggestions?

Video Formats
I’m not an expert on video formats, but I’m working to make file sizes smaller.

I currently screen capture in ScreenFlow and export at 5,000kb/s and then encode using Handbrake. That takes a 500mb file down to about 50mb.

For camera video, I’m using a DLSR Canon 6D and Final Cut Pro X. I export to a Master File (12GB for 10 minutes!) then I use Handbrake to encode down to around 200mb.

Video Captioning
I just ordered captioning from ZenCaptions, it took a while to figure out the best way to share all the videos with them. From the first 3 days we have around 195 minutes of video, which costs $1/minute.

I used the service for the Swift Primer and it worked well – we should have captioning by the weekend.

Video Downloads
Any suggestions for services to host GB of video data? A few students want to download a bundle of videos, and I need to know what’s the best option.

It looks like 3 days worth of material is currently 1.23GB of video data (29 videos).
~9 videos/day * 20 daily lessons = 180 videos180

So the course download with my current export settings might be 7.6GB total, but I can break it up weekly (1-2GB downloads).

Timeline
I hope to get back on track and have content sooner in the day over the weekend. It’s been a lot of filming, editing, exporting, and uploading.

My goal was 12am, that slipped until the same day.

Suggestions and Feedback
Let me know if you have any questions or suggestions based on what I’m doing.

-Paul

[Swift 1] Day 4 - Variables, Types, and a Tip Calculator